Getting started in mobile app testing

Hello,

As a newbie with THE worst rating, I am at a loss on how to get things going.

I have seen tons of resources and could have easily looked over something. Let me set the scene:

I have downloaded a mobile app from a bug bounty I am looking at. I ran some analysis and found some issues. This gave way to the questions:
How do I find out if these issues I found have been reported before? I wish to avoid embarrassing myself by submitting previously submitted issues.

As I am not a programmmer, what is a good way to look at the code and then research how to resolve the issue. Assuming that mitigation is part of the reporting process yes?

Thanks for your help,
Dave

2 Likes

Hi @TheArcher!

Welcome to Bug Bounties and to Bugcrowd!

To your question, part of the challenge as a researcher is that you’re operating with very limited information about what else has been reported. Most of the time you have very little, if any, so you’ve just got to do your best :slight_smile:

Finding a “duplicate”, as we refer to them, isn’t a bad thing. It just means someone got there before you.

You actually don’t have to include mitigation or patching information. You could if you want to, but it’s not required. The main information you’ll want to include are reproduction steps, screenshots/video, any sort of repro information (Browser used, Browser Version, etc), and you should clearly state what the bug is and the potential impact of the bug. You’ve sort of have to “sell” it, meaning you need to help someone understand why they should care about this bug you’ve found.

For more on writing submissions, check out this blog post:

You might also like this blog post:

3 Likes

Hello Sam,

And thank you for the welcome.

Yes, doing bug bounties can be likened, in a weird sort of way, to playing poker. Poker is a game of incomplete information. Your response makes it sound like bounty hunting can be as well. To a lesser degree, I’ll grant you.