XXE clarification

Hello fellow ninjas!

I am new to web app sec, and I have submitted all P5s, as these seem to be the only things I can find. Its great for learning, and Im attempting to use no tools other than burp and browser because I want to learn manually. I feel like I spend alot of time getting lost following a focused methodology, like ill poke at a post request, then ill see some interesting url in response then get lost following that pattern. So, I really want to start “specializing” in a few bugs so Im not spending time on p5, sadly, these are the only bugs I can really recoginize as im not familiar yet with I am seeing. Id like to start working with xxe and ive been reading all i can, but im a bit confused on the hands on part in real world app. I guess where im confused is which payloads to try some have different encoding and where to try to try payload. do i try it on a page where xml or json is accepted? switching content types, methods like swapping get to post then pasting a payload. Any advice?

Hi @paxtammy,

reading your words I think you are in the right direction. :+1:
About your XXE question: it really depends on the context, usually when the request has an XML structure then you can test it easily. Sometimes the XML request is sent encoded in bas64, I saw that one time but I don’t remember where. Other times the endpoint accepts any request content type but you have to change the original request (JSON or whatever) to test it.
It’s normal to be confused, you probably know that, so keep reading about it until your mind “clicks” and you get it.
I wouldn’t try random payloads because that way you are not going to understand what you are doing and, for what I understand, it is not your goal.

Thanks for your feedback!