Legal question about starting bug bounties

Hello people :wave:

I’m a bug bounty noob with a simple question about the legal aspect of bug bounties and vulnerability disclosure programs.

I’ve spent some times on bugcrowd and hackerones trying to find public bug bounties and VDPs to start my hacking journey. However, I quickly realized there were no buttons to subscribe or make your hacking known to the company you’re interested in so here is my question:

Once I have read about the guidelines and policy of a program (no matter whether this is a bug bounty or a VDP), can I legally go on a domain owned by the company and start active recon and hacking or is there another step I’m unaware of to follow before I start interacting in any way with the target ?

Sorry if my question might seem silly, but I’d rather ask to avoid getting in trouble later.

Thank you in advance for your answers (and don’t hesitate to tell me if my post wasn’t clear enough, english is not my native language and I haven’t used it in a while.) :slight_smile:

Hey @Dustbinary! Organisations explicitly state their requirements and rules to follow in each brief. If it’s not explicitly in-scope it is out of scope. It’s also important to make sure you read the individual program rules! You can read more about this here: Reviewing Bounty Briefs | Bugcrowd Docs.

Additionally, some programs will offer safe harbour (you can read more here: Disclose.io and Safe Harbor | Bugcrowd Docs) where they commit to a set of core terms (GitHub - disclose/dioterms: Open-source vulnerability disclosure policy templates.)

Hi @drunkrhin0,

Thanks for your answer, it’s a bit clearer. I didn’t know what safe harbour was :slight_smile: