XSS vs X-XSS and CSP

I understand HTML, CSS some PHP and JS so I figured XSS was the way to go. I’m currently a programmer and have been getting into Bug Hunting. Everywhere i go people state XSS is the easiest vuln to find, but when I look more into it XSS and CSP seem to have almost eradicated reflected XSS. Is there a X-XSS or CSP I can get to practice against or resources available?
Few additional questions while I’m here:

1. is running a port scanner or any automated scanner on a website frowned upon and wouldnt it be stopped by a firewall or IDT?
  2. when using Burp Intruder to brute force passwords wouldn’t my IP get black listed after so many attempts? (I do have IP Vanish)
  3. I feel like there are so many methods in catching the signatures of the common tools that unless you have a very in depth knowledge on how the detection systems work you will get no where. is there resources to practice against updated, well put together firewalls, X-XSS, CSP and IDT systems.logic?
    Sorry for the novel just feeling overwhelmed tying to find my first bug

FYI,
I ate a snickers and did a little more research. Im better now, thanks.

Disclaimer: I’m a beginner too, but with less experience with the Internet.
It is my understanding that a big difference between pentest and bug bounty is that our targets are usually fully deployed, and the target owners don’t want us doing anything to degrade service. I believe that eliminates most or all automation (i.e. scanners, fuzzers, etc).
Another difference is that pentesters need a broad base of knowledge, whereas we can specialize (e.g. XSS). It’s always easier to break things.
I have seen reflected XSS show up in bug reports, so I know they are out there. From my reading, it appears that XSS will be with us for a while. Finding them will likely get harder and require more expertise over time.
Good luck! [Rich]

1 Like

haha, good luck with that. I disagree. It depends.